FM
fazen.markets
energy·esfritzh

Ormat Wins Up to $35M DOE Funding for Nevada, Utah Geothermal

4h ago|5 min readStandard
FM

Fazen Markets Editorial Desk

Collective editorial team ·

ormat-technologiesdoe-fundingenhanced-geothermal-systemsdixie-valleygeothermal-energy

Key Takeaways

  • 1Ormat's up-to-$35 million DOE selection validates its EGS strategy, but every dollar stays contingent until award negotiations close.

Partner

Trade Oil, Gas & Energy Markets

Regulated Broker Competitive Spreads

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.

Ormat Technologies (NYSE: ORA) was selected by the U.S. Department of Energy for up to approximately $35 million in funding to advance geothermal development at two of its U.S. projects, the company announced on Sept. 24, 2026. The award is split between a Dixie Valley, Nevada EGS project, selected for up to $25 million in partnership with SLB and the University of Utah, and the Cove Fort, Utah hydrothermal project, selected for up to $9.7 million with the University of Utah. Ormat said both awards remain subject to completed negotiations with the DOE.

Context — why DOE backing matters for Ormat's geothermal pipeline

Ormat's funding selection lands against a stated demand backdrop in the report: accelerating electricity demand from AI data centers, electric vehicles, industrial reshoring, and electrification of heating and cooling. The company frames geothermal and Enhanced Geothermal Systems as a 24/7 power source positioned to meet that load. The DOE awards give external validation to that thesis at two distinct resource types — an engineered reservoir play in Nevada and a conventional hydrothermal play in Utah.

The report offers no prior-quarter funding comparison and no earlier DOE award figure for Ormat, so the $35 million cannot be benchmarked against a stated precedent. What matters instead is structure: two awards, two states, two technical approaches, one partner overlap. SLB appears only on the Dixie Valley EGS side; the University of Utah appears on both, giving the program a single academic anchor across both projects.

What changed to trigger the selection now is not disclosed in the report. Ormat does not say when it applied, what the DOE review timeline was, or which funding round the awards fall under. Readers should treat the announcement as a selection, not a signed grant.

The report quotes CEO Doron Blachar describing the awards as reinforcing the role of innovation and collaboration in U.S. geothermal development. That is the company's framing of its own news, not an independent assessment of the projects' technical odds.

Data — what the numbers show

The headline figure is up to approximately $35 million in aggregate DOE funding, split as up to $25 million for Dixie Valley and up to $9.7 million for Cove Fort. Ormat does not disclose the total project cost of either development, so the DOE share as a percentage of capital outlay cannot be calculated from the report.

ItemDixie ValleyCove Fort
DOE funding (up to)$25M$9.7M
ScopeDesign, drilling, testing, validation of an EGS doubletDrilling, subsurface characterization
PartnersSLB, University of UtahUniversity of Utah
LocationNevadaUtah

The Dixie Valley scope is the more technical of the two: a doublet — a paired injection and production well — designed to test whether an engineered reservoir placed next to an existing hydrothermal system can hold sustained circulation, improved permeability, and commercially relevant thermal output. Cove Fort is characterized as understanding heat and fluid distribution in carbonate rock.

On portfolio scale, the report puts Ormat's total generating portfolio at 1,850MW, comprising a 1,355MW geothermal and solar segment spread across the U.S., Kenya, Guatemala, Indonesia, Honduras, and Guadeloupe, plus a 495MW energy storage portfolio in the U.S. The company also cites approximately 3,600MW of gross capacity engineered, manufactured, and constructed across plants it owns or has installed for utilities and developers. No live market data was provided for this report, so no share price, index, or peer comparison can be made.

Analysis — what it means for markets, sectors, and tickers

The direct read-through is to Ormat itself (NYSE: ORA), where the awards add a government-funded R&D layer on top of an operating geothermal base. Ormat describes itself as the only vertically integrated company in geothermal and recovered energy generation, and as the only single-solution company with end-to-end capabilities to commercialize, scale, and operate EGS. If the Dixie Valley doublet validates sustained circulation and commercial thermal output, that claim becomes a differentiated position against developers that depend on third-party equipment.

Second-order exposure runs to the geothermal supply chain and to SLB, named as Ormat's EGS partner. Service and drilling exposure to EGS programs sits with oilfield services names rather than utilities, because the technical work is subsurface. Utilities and data-center power buyers are the eventual offtake side, but the report names no power purchase agreement or customer, so no revenue link can be drawn.

The main counter-argument is procedural. Every dollar in the release is contingent: Ormat states the awards are subject to completion of award negotiations, and its safe harbor language flags that DOE funding may not be awarded, may be reduced, or may be rescinded during negotiation. A selection is not a disbursement.

Positioning is hard to infer without market data. The report gives no share price, volume, or analyst reaction, so no flow direction can be stated.

Outlook — what to watch next

The first catalyst is completion of award negotiations with the DOE, which Ormat does not date. Until those conclude, the $25 million and $9.7 million figures remain ceilings rather than committed capital. The second is the Dixie Valley drilling and testing program itself: the report describes design, drilling, testing, and validation of the EGS doublet but gives no schedule, spud date, or milestone calendar.

Third is Cove Fort's subsurface characterization work, which informs how heat and fluids move through carbonate formations; results there would shape whether the existing hydrothermal resource supports further development. Ormat's statement that it is continuing to optimize and expand its existing resource base frames both projects as part of a broader growth approach rather than standalone bets.

No price levels, moving averages, or yield thresholds are available from the report or from supplied market data, so none are cited here. Watch for DOE negotiation updates and any project-level drilling disclosures from Ormat or SLB.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does the Ormat DOE funding mean for retail investors?

It is a selection for up to $35 million in federal funding, not a confirmed grant. Ormat's own safe harbor language warns the DOE money may not be awarded, may be reduced, or may be rescinded during negotiations. For a holder of ORA, the news signals technical validation and partnership strength rather than an immediate change to cash flow or earnings.

What happens next for Ormat's Dixie Valley and Cove Fort projects?

Dixie Valley moves into design, drilling, testing, and validation of an EGS doublet with SLB and the University of Utah. Cove Fort moves into drilling and subsurface characterization with the University of Utah. Both depend on finalized DOE award terms, and Ormat has not disclosed a timeline, budget, or drilling schedule for either project.

Why did Ormat receive two separate DOE awards instead of one?

The report describes two different technical scopes. Dixie Valley tests whether an engineered reservoir adjacent to an existing hydrothermal system can sustain circulation and commercial thermal output. Cove Fort studies how heat and fluids distribute through carbonate rock. The DOE funded them as distinct projects, with the University of Utah as a shared partner.

Bottom Line

Ormat's up-to-$35 million DOE selection validates its EGS strategy, but every dollar stays contingent until award negotiations close.

Disclaimer: This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice. CFD trading carries high risk of capital loss.

Trade oil, gas & energy markets

Start Trading
Share

Stay informed

Get market analysis delivered to your inbox.

Join 18,500+ investors

Sponsored

Ready to trade the markets?

Open a demo account in 30 seconds. No deposit required.

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.

Related