IPC Buys Back 148,500 Shares, Hits 1.1M Under NCIB
Fazen Markets Editorial Desk
Collective editorial team · methodology
International Petroleum Corporation (TSX, Nasdaq Stockholm: IPCO) repurchased 148,500 of its own common shares during the period of September 21 to 25, 2026, the company announced on September 28, 2026. The buyback split across two venues: 100,000 shares on Nasdaq Stockholm through Pareto Securities AB and 48,500 shares on the TSX through ATB Securities Inc. All repurchased shares will be cancelled. As at September 25, 2026, IPC reported 112,159,304 common shares issued and outstanding with voting rights, including 431,638 shares held in treasury.
Context — why the weekly buyback disclosure matters
The repurchase activity falls under IPC's normal course issuer bid, first announced on December 3, 2025. That program operates under the EU Market Abuse Regulation (MAR) No 596/2014 and the Safe Harbour Regulation, alongside TSX and Nasdaq Stockholm rules. The dual-venue structure is not incidental: IPC maintains listings in both Canada and Sweden, so its buyback must satisfy two regulatory regimes simultaneously.
The company said a maximum of 6,468,077 IPC common shares may be repurchased up to December 4, 2026, or until the NCIB is completed or terminated earlier. That ceiling is the anchor for measuring how much of the program IPC has actually used.
The weekly disclosure cadence itself is a compliance artifact. Article 5.3 of MAR and article 2.3 of the Safe Harbour Regulation require issuers to publish detailed transaction breakdowns when buying back shares. IPC directs readers to its website for that granular summary.
What changed this week is simply the accumulation. The September 21-25 period added another 148,500 shares to a running total that had already crossed one million. There is no new program, no change in authorization, and no shift in the pace that the report discloses from prior weeks.
For an exploration and production company with assets in Canada, Malaysia and France, the buyback is a capital-return signal. IPC is a member of the Lundin Group of Companies and is incorporated in Canada.
Data — what the numbers show
The headline figures are straightforward. IPC repurchased 148,500 shares in the five-day window. Of that, 100,000 came from Nasdaq Stockholm, roughly 67% of the weekly total, and 48,500 from the TSX, roughly 33%.
Against the program ceiling, the cumulative picture matters more. A total of 1,099,086 IPC common shares have been repurchased under the NCIB through the facilities of the TSX and Nasdaq Stockholm up to September 25, 2026. That represents approximately 17% of the 6,468,077-share maximum.
| Metric | Figure |
|---|---|
| Shares repurchased Sept 21-25, 2026 | 148,500 |
| Nasdaq Stockholm portion | 100,000 |
| TSX portion | 48,500 |
| Cumulative NCIB repurchases to Sept 25, 2026 | 1,099,086 |
| NCIB maximum authorized | 6,468,077 |
| Shares outstanding with voting rights | 112,159,304 |
| Shares held in treasury | 431,638 |
The outstanding share count of 112,159,304 with voting rights is the denominator investors should track. Each cancelled share reduces it permanently. The 431,638 treasury shares are held separately and are not counted among the voting-rights total.
The report does not disclose the average price paid per share, the total dollar value of the repurchases, or the daily transaction breakdown. Those details sit in the MAR article 5.3 disclosure on IPC's website rather than in the press release text.
No peer buyback comparison is provided in the report, and none is offered here.
Analysis — what it means for markets and the energy ticker
Buybacks reduce share count, which mechanically raises earnings per share for a given net income level. For an E&P company like IPC, the effect compounds if commodity prices hold, because the same production base is spread across fewer shares. The company frames the program as returning value to shareholders.
Second-order effects run through the Lundin Group ecosystem. IPC's membership in that group means income-oriented investors tracking Lundin-affiliated energy names may read the steady weekly repurchases as a signal of balance-sheet confidence. The dual TSX and Nasdaq Stockholm execution also keeps liquidity balanced across both order books.
The counter-argument deserves airing. Buybacks consume cash that could fund drilling, acquisitions, or debt reduction. IPC's forward-looking statement explicitly names commodity price fluctuations, interest rate and exchange rate swings, and marketing and transportation risks as factors that could affect results. If oil prices fall, a fixed repurchase pace becomes a larger drain on free cash flow.
A second limitation is disclosure depth. Weekly share counts without price data tell investors how much stock IPC bought but not what it paid. A repurchase at elevated prices destroys less value than one at depressed prices only if the shares are undervalued, and the report offers no valuation view.
Positioning-wise, the flow is one-directional: IPC is the buyer, cancelling shares, which shrinks float. Who is selling into that bid is not disclosed. The report also states that IPC's shares trade under the symbol IPCO on both exchanges.
Outlook — what to watch next
The next scheduled disclosure is the following weekly buyback update, covering the period after September 25, 2026. IPC has published these summaries each week under the MAR obligation, so the cadence is predictable.
The binding date is December 4, 2026, when the NCIB expires unless IPC completes or terminates it sooner. Between now and then, the number to watch is the gap between the 1,099,086 shares already repurchased and the 6,468,077-share maximum.
Investors should also track the outstanding share count, last reported at 112,159,304 with voting rights. Each weekly cancellation lowers it. The report names no share-price support or resistance levels, and none are asserted here.
Any acceleration or slowdown in the weekly pace would be the first visible signal that IPC is adjusting its repurchase strategy. The report gives no forward guidance on pace.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does IPC's share buyback mean for retail investors?
A buyback reduces the number of IPC shares in circulation, provided the repurchased shares are cancelled, which the company confirms they will be. Fewer shares can lift per-share metrics like earnings per share for the same profit. Retail holders also see their proportional ownership rise. It is not a dividend, so no cash reaches shareholders directly.
Why did IPC buy more shares on Nasdaq Stockholm than on the TSX?
During September 21 to 25, 2026, IPC repurchased 100,000 shares on Nasdaq Stockholm and 48,500 on the TSX. The report does not explain the venue split. Both exchanges are IPC's listing venues, and each repurchase was executed by a separate broker: Pareto Securities AB in Stockholm and ATB Securities Inc. in Toronto.
What happens when IPC's NCIB expires on December 4, 2026?
The normal course issuer bid runs until December 4, 2026, or an earlier completion or termination date chosen by IPC. If the program ends before the 6,468,077-share maximum is reached, the remaining authorization lapses. IPC has not stated whether it intends to seek a renewed program, and the report gives no guidance on that point.
Bottom Line
IPC has used roughly 17% of its NCIB ceiling, cancelling 1,099,086 shares with the December 4, 2026 expiry as the next hard checkpoint.
Disclaimer: This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice. CFD trading carries high risk of capital loss.
Trade oil, gas & energy markets
Start TradingSponsored
Ready to trade the markets?
Open a demo account in 30 seconds. No deposit required.
CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.