FM
fazen.markets
healthcare·esfritzh

IBA Signs Rome Proton Therapy Deal, First in Central Italy

1d ago|5 min readStandard
FM

Fazen Markets Editorial Desk

Collective editorial team ·

ibaproton-therapyproteus-oneifo-romehealthcare-equipment
Sponsoredby Fazen Capital

AiX — Free Expert Advisor

Trades XAUUSD on autopilot. Verified Myfxbook performance. Free forever.

Myfxbook verified No subscription XAUUSD M15
Get Free EA

Risk warning: CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. The majority of retail investor accounts lose money when trading CFDs. AiX is informational software — not investment advice. Past performance does not guarantee future results.

Key Takeaways

  • 1IBA won Rome's first gantry-based proton therapy contract, but left the deal's value undisclosed.

Partner

Trade the Markets Discussed in This Article

Regulated Broker Competitive Spreads

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.

Louvain-La-Neuve, Belgium, September 29, 2026 at 7 a.m. CEST – Ion Beam Applications S.A. announced on 29 September 2026 that it signed a turnkey contract with the Istituti Fisioterapici Ospitalieri & Istituto Nazionale Tumori Regina Elena to install a gantry-based proton therapy system in Rome, the first of its kind in central and southern Italy. The company said a Proteus ONE system with a multiyear maintenance contract typically carries an end-user price of €35–45 million. IFO expects to begin treating patients in 2030.

Context — why this matters now

The contract gives IBA a foothold in a geography where proton therapy is not currently offered, according to the report. Central and southern Italy have no gantry-based proton system today, and IFO said the project will bring the technology to patients in that region for the first time. That is the comparable the report supplies: not a prior order in the same territory, but the absence of one.

The selection followed what the report describes as a rigorous public tender process. IBA bid alongside Cecchini SRL and Gowen SRL, construction companies and members of an RTI, or Temporary Grouping of Companies. The consortium model matters here because a proton center is a building project as much as an equipment sale — vault shielding, gantry installation and clinical fit-out all sit outside the accelerator itself, and the report confirms the contract covers design and build alongside supply.

Macro conditions are not addressed in the report, and no rate or index level is cited alongside the announcement.

The catalyst chain runs from tender to signature to construction: IFO ran the procurement, selected the IBA-led grouping, and now expects treatment to start in 2030. That four-year gap between contract signature and first patient reflects the build and commissioning cycle a turnkey installation requires. IBA did not disclose the contract value, the payment schedule, or the construction timeline beyond the 2030 treatment target.

What changed is the status of the project. Before the signature it was a tender; after it, it is a contracted order with a named buyer, a named consortium and a stated clinical purpose.

Data — what the numbers show

The headline figure is the €35–45 million typical end-user price IBA gives for a Proteus ONE system bundled with a multiyear maintenance contract. That is a market-level price range for the product, not a disclosed value for this specific IFO contract. The company did not put a number on the Rome deal.

The contract scope includes the latest-generation Proteus ONE system, design, build, installation, a training and education program, and a one-year operation and maintenance agreement. Read the scope against the price range: the maintenance element inside the €35–45 million band is multiyear, while the operation and maintenance agreement attached to this contract runs one year. Those are separate items and the report does not reconcile them.

The 2030 treatment start is the second concrete number. It places the revenue-recognition and clinical-readout horizon of the project four years out from signature.

ItemReport detail
SystemProteus ONE, compact gantry-based
Typical end-user price€35–45 million, with multiyear maintenance
Contract scopeSupply, design, build, installation, training, 1-year O&M
Patient treatment start2030, per IFO
GeographyFirst gantry-based proton system in central and southern Italy

IBA describes itself as the world leader in particle accelerator technology and the leading provider of proton therapy solutions, employing approximately 2,300 people and listed on Euronext under Reuters ticker IBAB.BR and Bloomberg ticker IBAB.BB. It is a certified B Corporation. Those are company statements about its own position.

Analysis — what it means for markets and sectors

For IBA, the deal is a reference installation as much as an order. Proton therapy procurement is a reference-driven market: hospital boards weigh a vendor's installed base in comparable institutions before committing capital to a four-year build. Adding the first gantry system in a large untreated region gives IBA a case study for other tenders in Italy and adjacent markets where the modality is still absent.

The second-order read sits with the consortium. Cecchini SRL and Gowen SRL carry the construction side, so the contract spreads across civil works, shielding and fit-out rather than concentrating in the accelerator supplier alone. For healthcare-infrastructure and medical-equipment investors, that is the shape of a turnkey proton deal: one clinical buyer, several contractors, one equipment vendor.

The acknowledged limitation is timing and disclosure. Treatment begins in 2030, and the company did not state the contract value, so the revenue contribution in any single year cannot be sized from this announcement. A €35–45 million typical price range is a product-level benchmark, not a booking. Nor does the report indicate how many patients IFO expects to treat, which determines whether the center operates near capacity or ramps slowly.

The counter-argument is competitive. The report notes Proteus ONE is the market-leading compact solution, but a market leader in a geography with no installed base is competing against the status quo of referring patients elsewhere, not only against rival vendors. Adoption depends on clinical referral patterns changing, which is a slower variable than equipment delivery.

Positioning follows the same logic: this is a long-duration healthcare-infrastructure commitment from a public research hospital, financed through Italian public procurement, with the equipment vendor's economics spread across the build period rather than booked at signature.

Outlook — what to watch next

The first checkpoint is construction progress toward the 2030 treatment target IFO stated. Any revision to that date would signal build or commissioning slippage.

Second is whether IBA converts the Rome reference into further Italian or southern-European tenders, since the strategic value of this contract rests on the geography it opens rather than the unit economics of a single sale.

The third is disclosure. IBA has not published the contract value, so the next company update that quantifies the order book is where the Rome deal becomes measurable. No date for that update is given in the report.

On the clinical side, watch whether IFO confirms the pediatric and adult indications it intends to treat. The report states the hospital will use proton therapy for both, without specifying tumor types or expected patient volumes.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does the IBA Rome proton therapy contract mean for retail investors?

It is a contracted order for IBA's Proteus ONE system with a named public hospital buyer, awarded through a tender IBA won as part of a consortium. The company did not disclose the contract value, so the deal's near-term revenue effect cannot be quantified from the announcement. The strategic point is geographic: it is the first gantry-based proton system in central and southern Italy.

Why does the Rome proton center not open until 2030?

A proton therapy installation is a construction project. The contract covers design, build, installation, training and a one-year operation and maintenance agreement alongside the equipment. Vault construction, shielding and gantry fit-out all precede clinical use, and IFO's stated 2030 treatment start reflects that build and commissioning cycle. IBA did not publish a construction timeline.

How much does a Proteus ONE system cost?

IBA states that a Proteus ONE system with a multiyear maintenance contract typically carries an end-user price between €35 and €45 million. That is a standard product price range, not the value of the IFO contract, which the company did not disclose. The Rome contract bundles a one-year operation and maintenance agreement rather than a multiyear one.

Bottom Line

IBA won Rome's first gantry-based proton therapy contract, but left the deal's value undisclosed.

Disclaimer: This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice. CFD trading carries high risk of capital loss.

Sponsored — AiX

Trade XAUUSD on autopilot — free Expert Advisor

AiX is our free MetaTrader 5 Expert Advisor. Verified Myfxbook performance. No subscription. No fees. XAUUSD breakout engine.

Get Free EA

Position yourself for the macro moves discussed above

Start Trading
Share

Stay informed

Get market analysis delivered to your inbox.

Join 18,500+ investors

Sponsored

Ready to trade the markets?

Open a demo account in 30 seconds. No deposit required.

CFDs are complex instruments and come with a high risk of losing money rapidly due to leverage. You should consider whether you understand how CFDs work and whether you can afford to take the high risk of losing your money.

Related